Five Dhyani Buddhas Thanka Painting

Five Dhyani Buddhas Mandala

From: $30.00

The Five Dhyani Buddhas are mostly represented in Vajrayana mandalas used for meditation practice. They are known as the five Tathagatas: transcendent beings manifestations of the five virtues of the primordial Buddha Vairocana positioned here at the center of the Mandala.
The other Dhyani Buddhas are Amoghasiddhi, Amitabha, Akshobhya and Ratnasambhava.
In some thangka paintings they are positioned along the cardinal points in others, like in this mandala, they are placed in the corners.

This mandala is also called five circles mandala and it is designed to facilitate meditation.
Each circle surrounding the Buddhas is symbol of protection from external interferences. The ring of lotus petals inside the circle symbolize purity and spiritual intention that is necessary to practice meditation.
Inside the lotus ring it is depicted a circle of flames, representation of the fire of knowledge that destroys ignorance and enable the practitioner to enter the mandala.

Among the several wrathful deities and Bodhisattvas that populate this mandala, Chakrasamvara is depicted on top and thousand-armed Avalokiteshvara on the bottom.

Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on RedditShare on TumblrEmail this to someone

Clear selection

Product Enquiry


There are no reviews yet.

Leave a Reply